Lead time is 5 working days

World Team of the 20th Century

football team line up World Cup xi

World Team of the 20th Century


The team was announced on 10 June 1998, in conjunction with the opening ceremonies of the 1998 FIFA World Cup in France. The team was selected in plurality voting undertaken by a panel of 250 international football journalists.

Lev Yashin:

Considered one of the greatest goalkeepers of all time, Yashin played for the Soviet Union and is the only goalkeeper to have won the Ballon d'Or (1963).

Carlos Alberto Torres:

A Brazilian right-back, he is best known for captaining the 1970 Brazil national team to victory in the FIFA World Cup and scoring one of the most famous goals in World Cup history in the final against Italy.

Franz Beckenbauer:

A legendary German defender and sweeper, Beckenbauer won the World Cup both as a player (1974) and as a manager (1990). The only defender in history to win two Ballon d'Or awards.

Bobby Moore:

An English center-back, Moore captained the England national team to its only World Cup victory in 1966, and he is considered one of the greatest defenders in the history of the sport.

Nílton Santos:

A Brazilian left-back, Santos was a key player in Brazil's World Cup victories in 1958 and 1962 and is widely regarded as one of the best left-backs in football history.

Johan Cruyff:

A Dutch forward, Cruyff was a footballing visionary and a key figure in the development of "Total Football." He won three Ballon d'Or awards and had a significant impact as both a player and manager.

Alfredo Di Stéfano: An Argentine forward, Di Stéfano played a crucial role for Real Madrid in their dominance of European club football in the 1950s and 1960s.

Michel Platini:

A French midfielder, Platini won three consecutive Ballon d'Or awards (1983-1985) and was a key player for both the French national team and Juventus.


A Brazilian winger, Garrincha was known for his exceptional dribbling skills and played a crucial role in Brazil's success in the 1958 and 1962 World Cups.

Diego Maradona:

An Argentine forward, Maradona is widely regarded as one of the greatest footballers of all time. His performances in the 1986 World Cup, where he led Argentina to victory, are legendary.


A Brazilian forward, Pelé is often considered one of the greatest footballers ever. He won three World Cups (1958, 1962, 1970) and scored over 1,000 career goals.

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published